The work being undertaken as part of The Next Chapter is the latest part of a rich history of transport and infrastructure developments in Halifax.


Piece Hall closes for extensive refurbishment. The Town Centre Delivery Plan is drafted to complete regeneration of Halifax Town Centre and Princess Buildings refurbishment. 


Broad Street Plaza retail and cinema development opens. Orangebox, a new state of the art centre for young people, opens.



Grand Central restores direct trains to London from Halifax for the first time in over 30 years.



‘Woolshops’ opens with weavers’ cottages refurbished into modern retail units. Halifax Parish Church is granted Minster status and the Town Team is formed as part of Halifax Renaissance programme.


Eureka!, the national children’s museum, opens as an interactive educational museum for children.



Calderdale Council's 'Inheritance Decade', a unique model of urban and economic regeneration, begins. Dean Clough reopens and becomes a nationally renowned mixed-use mill complex.



Burdock Way bypass opens. Calderdale Council is established and local government re-organisation places Halifax at the heart of the new Borough of Calderdale.


Halifax Road Engineer, Percy Shaw, invents Cat's Eyes.



Construction of Halifax Borough Market by Leeming Brothers of Halifax.


Thomas Mackintosh invents sticky toffee, eventually growing Mackintosh’s into a global company. Quality Street, one of the firm's leading products, is still manufactured in Halifax today.


Hailfax Town Hall is built from a design by Sir Charles Barry, who also designed the Houses of Parliament.


Halifax railway under construction, and the Halifax Building Society is established.


Incorporation of the Borough of Halifax.


Halifax in a period of boom growth during industrial revolution, while the first mill is built by the Crossley family at Dean Clough.


Textile boom leads to opening of Piece Hall, with 315 merchant rooms.


Construction starts on Calder & Hebble Navigation canal.


Halifax grows into a small market town of 6000 people.


Worsted production in Calderdale began with ‘Shalloons’, a fabric used for dresses and lining coats, and ‘Bays’, a mixed cloth made with a worsted warp and a woollen weft. Flowered and figured fancy worsted cloth became a local speciality, widely exported to Portugal, Spain, and the Mediterranean


The Halifax Act of 1555 shows that people regularly bought their own wool and took it home to spin into yarn and weave into cloth – a method known as the domestic system.


Yeomen used the wealth they accumulated from farming and textiles to build houses that reflected their position at the top of local society. Architectural historians call their distinctive regional style ‘Halifax’ houses.


Calderdale was England’s largest producer of Kersey cloth. The volume of woollen cloth sold at the Halifax market was five times that sold at Leeds and eight times that sold at Bradford.

1437 - 1480

The Parish Church in Halifax was rebuilt and enlarged. Today, it is known as Halifax Minster.


By the late 1290s one of the first fulling mills had been built in Calderdale, where the paths from Sowerby and Warley crossed the rivers Calder and Ryburn. The village that grew up became Sowerby Bridge.


Local settlements named in Doomsday book.